Home > Horror, Review > Movie Review – The Lady in Black

Movie Review – The Lady in Black

So the wife and I decided it was time for a date night. First, we contacted our favorite babysitter to watch the little heathens; since our daughter has no choice but to watch her brothers that was the easy part. I bought tickets and we were both excited to go see a movie.

The film in question was The Lady in Black; a movie that I was happy to have seen for many reasons. This film is wonderfully done and does a great job of balancing between jump out and startle you horror and get into your head and leave you scared horror. There wasn’t any gore to speak of yet there was still an impressive body count. This movie was great and I would highly recommend that you watch it.

Just don’t watch it like we did, on opening night, in a theater full of teens.

Wow, I can’t really express how bad of an idea that was. When we got there the wife told me to go find seats while she soaked her popcorn in enough butter to clog the arteries of a whale. So I walked in and looked around. There were seats near the back middle so I headed there and actually managed to make a young woman jump and squeak by walking up behind her. Not that I was sneaking, rather she was just standing on the stairs talking with her friends and was oblivious to the tall man walking up behind her.

That should have been my warning; really, I should have went out and changed our ticket times right then.

So the movie starts and so does all of the stupid kiddie crap. The group behind us managed to start screwing around and fighting over a drink, then dropped the drink. This spilled the bucket of cola that the theater sells and caused a tidal wave of carbonation that actually hit my wife and got her arm wet. The moron beside us on my side was commenting on the movie to his girl and belching. The guys to the front corner of the wife were farting loudly enough to be heard. People were talking on cell phones and texting.

Believe it or not, there is still more. The worst thing after the coke was the general crowd. Think about this for a second. What do large groups of teenage girls do when they get scared by something?

I will give you a hint. It is a herd related impulse to diffuse fear through rationalization.

Yeah, they jump, squeal or squeak, giggle, and then TALK ABOUT IT.

So, at the best parts of the movie, when the tension had been built through the wonderful camera work and amazing lack of dialog, everything was diffused by the inane giggling and whispering of around fifty teenage girls.

Worst theater experience ever and one that will likely keep us from going to another theater for quite a while. It isn’t worth the cost to sit and not enjoy yourself.

The Woman in Black was wonderful and I do intend to watch this again. Radcliff offered a solid performance and I am happy to have watched it. I just wish I had watched it somewhere else. Next time I will be at home.

L. E. White

Special to Me

There is something to be said for the way I felt about her. I had spent so much time watching her and trying to come up with a viable way to approach her. We didn’t work together, we weren’t in the same department and I only knew her name from the sign on the wall. How then, was I supposed to approach her?

My fear was that she would think I was creepy. I didn’t want her to look at me with fear in her eyes while reaching for the desk phone to call security. The other problem was that I didn’t feel comfortable paying her a compliment. Just seeing her standing beside a cube made it clear how beautiful she was, but if she went to human resources with the words, “Sexual Harassment”, I would be fired for having done nothing more than tell her she looked nice.

What could I do?

She drives that little silver sedan. I park back a row so that I can watch her walk out of an evening. My shift starts before hers so I can’t walk in with her but I can sit and wait on her to come out. This way I get one last look at my angel before going home alone.

She is alone to. I followed her home and found out that she has an apartment on the north side of town. So we have more in common than I realized which is even better.

She doesn’t seem to date. I spend a lot of Friday and Saturday nights in this part of town now and I never see her out. I know I shouldn’t have done it but every now and then I have sat in the parking lot across the street and watched her car and door. She doesn’t have visitors so she isn’t dating. I have a chance if I can only find a way to approach her.

So I figure that since it is Valentine’s Day and I know I don’t want to spend it alone that she doesn’t want to either. So it is now or never. I went to the store and bought flowers and candy. I bought the wine that she likes. There are usually four bottles a week in her trash so I am sure that this is her favorite.

I followed her home from work and parked down the street. I watched and waited until seven to be sure that she didn’t have anyone coming over and that she didn’t leave. That was when I decided to make my move. I drove to her building and parked beside her in the guest spot that she never filled.

Deep calming breaths, one after another, as I attempted to keep from chickening out. I walked up and knocked on the door with my hands full.

I don’t know if she used the peep hole or not, but she opened the door with a confused look on her face as she said, “Can I help you?”

I almost chocked as I tried to swallow down my fear. “Hi,” I whispered.

“Hi.”

“Happy Valentine’s Day.” I said

“I recognize you.” She said, “We work together.”

“Yeah,”

She looked at me and the flowers. I could actually hear the leaves rustling from where I was shaking but I didn’t know if she caught that or not. “Would you like to come in?” She asked, stepping to the side.

I smiled and nodded as I entered, walking down the hall a little before stopping so that she could lead the way. “I brought wine.” I said as I handed the flowers and chocolate to her.

“I see that.” She said, “That’s my favorite kind.”

“I know, you usually drink about four bottles a week.” I replied as I turned to look around. The room looked different from the inside.

“What?” she asked, and that was where everything went wrong. She was mad at me and I was afraid of her saying that she was going to call the cops. I covered her mouth with my hand so that I could make her listen to me. If she knew how I felt everything would be alright. I tried to tell her but she was fighting and yelling. All I wanted was for her to listen.

She kept fighting and trying to scream.

I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t want her mad at me; I just wanted her to listen.

I had one hand covering her mouth so that she would stop yelling at me and one arm wrapped around her, pinning her arms down so that she would stop hitting me. I just wanted her to listen but she was struggling and we fell.

She hasn’t woken up but the bleeding has stopped. It might not have been how I wanted this to happen but this is still the first Valentine’s Day I have ever spent with someone else. The gag will keep her from yelling at me and with her hands tied to the headboard she won’t be able to hit me. Now she will have to listen to how I feel. Once I tell her she will understand.

Everything will be alright.

 

 

Categories: Horror, Review
  1. February 8, 2012 at 8:32 AM

    Glad to hear the movie was good despite the teenage crowd. I really want to see that movie and plan to very soon.

    • February 8, 2012 at 9:55 AM

      The movie was great. It is a good example of how filming and environment can do the work without heavy dialog. I loved it.

  2. February 8, 2012 at 8:37 PM

    Hello,

    Can you tell me about some great movies released this year? Many thanks in advance for your help! :)

    • February 9, 2012 at 7:22 AM

      I will post about what I see but I don’t watch much. Curse of having a busy life. We usually go to the theaters about twice a year and after this experience I would guess that this year may be done.

  3. April 9, 2012 at 8:05 AM

    Exactly the same happened to me. It was easter holidays…even when we asked them to shut up they didn’t

    • April 9, 2012 at 1:15 PM

      You have my sympathy.

      I wonder if there is a way to put call buttons on the arms of the seats to call movie security at times like that?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,973 other followers

