Home > Random, Writing > What’s in a Name?

What’s in a Name?

I have been working on this blog for a few weeks now. Slowly making small changes to try to turn it into something nice that people will want to read. I haven’t been skipping out on my other writing to do it so this has been a rather lack luster site so far. I would like to think that is changing but only time will tell.

Today though, I named the site. As I was trying to come up with something it hit me how difficult this can be. I didn’t want to seem conceded or pretentious. Funny only goes so far and I also needed to make sure that it didn’t seem cliché enough to scare potential readers away. An Opener’s Closing sounds good to me.

Now that I have settled on something, I also feel a little explanation is in order.

One of my favorite books is “A Night in the Lonesome October” by Roger Zelazny. I love the book. Probably read it every other year and I fly through it every time. For me, it is the foundational inspiration for the series that I am working on. It pays homage to the works of so many authors, by including their staring characters, that the story is a tribute to the giants whose shoulders we stand on in writing fantasy and horror fiction today. I recommend it to everyone.

Openers and Closers refers to those people who wish to allow the old ones to return to the world or who fight to keep them out. In the story, you follow them as they prepare for the special night when the stars align and the effort can be made to create the gate. Some work to open the way, others to stop them. But all of them work together even as they compete with each other.

As a writer, I open and close the ways to other worlds with every word. We all do. We write stories, assemble anthologies, collaborate and tour with other writers. Working together even as we compete for readers and money.

I hope you enjoy the stories and poems I post here. Thanks for reading and please leave me your comments. I appreciate all of the help I can get as I try to get better at what I am doing.

L. E. White

Categories: Random, Writing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

