Home > Flash Fiction, Random, Writing > Another day

Another day

Another Day and another small blurb from the fiction running through my mind. I hope you enjoy this one to. Don’t forget to enter a Haiku in my 12 Days of Creepfest Contest to win two free stories.

ttfn

Her Treatment

She was lying with her raven black hair spread out on the pillow like a peacock fanning its feathers. The thin white blankets piled on to keep her failing body warm. Far too young to be in this condition, I didn’t want to go in and talk to her about it. How was I supposed to explain to someone who was practically a child that they were dying? How in the world did you look at a beautiful woman, a bright future still clearly painted on her face, and tell her that the experimental medicines she elected to take were going to kill her?

I walked into the room and laid the clip board down at the foot of the bed. She was sleeping quietly and I couldn’t stand to wake her for bad news. Her name was Melody and she had been admitted for an experimental gene treatment about six months ago. I had explained to her what the risks were. I had covered the fact that this process could cause a mutation that would lead to death.

I had also told her the odds, playing it off as a one in a million chance. It was my job to sell the patient on the therapy. I was a closer, just like some kind of legal contract negotiator. I had sold other patients that had gone terminal. That didn’t bother me as much as this did. She was young. She was beautiful. She should have had at least another sixty years ahead of her. Now, she was going to start suffering; a combination of pain and organ failure that would force her to waste away in this room. That was part of the deal. They get to monitor the results of the treatment no matter how it turns out.

I picked up the board and left the room. I couldn’t do this to her. I couldn’t tell her what had happened and I couldn’t watch this happen. She was such a beautiful girl. The first symptom was the migraines and then the fatty cyst on her forehead had caused her to come in. That was when we discovered that the treatment had failed.

I was a coward. I might have been a good closer but I couldn’t stand by and watch what this did to her. I might have trouble living with myself for not being here but I knew I could not live at all if I watched it happen. I put the clipboard down on the nurse’s station and left my access badge with it. I had just quit. I was done.

She was my girlfriend and she had trusted me to get her through this.

Categories: Flash Fiction, Random, Writing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

