Home > blog tour, Flash Fiction, Horror, Other Blogs, Writing > Not Another Another Day Post

Not Another Another Day Post

I feel a little silly.

I just looked through the titles that I have written for these daily blogs. I never intended to try to post this much originally, but with the hop I wanted to offer as much content as I could while trying to hook new readers. With all of you coming in from other places I wanted to roll out the red carpet.

I managed to come up with new material for every day. I still have flash waiting to post so I feel pretty good about that. What I don’t have is a new title. I just discovered how much I used the word ‘Another’.

At least now I have my new years resolution. I resolve to stop using the word another in the title of every second post I make.

On to other things, today is the last day of the contest for the 12 Days of Creepfest. At the stroke of midnight, I will be asleep, but tomorrow I will select the winner of free copies of my stories. If you would be interested, just leave a haiku in the comments.

I haven’t decided if I will be moving to once or twice a week for new content yet. To be sure I can manage to keep going I am currently willing to commit to a new post every Wednesday. Hopefully, that is enough for those of you that actually like what I have been writing. Thanks for your time and I will see most of you again next week.

L. E. White

Nightmares

I sit up in the dark, a fine sweat on my body that chills the moment I am out from under the blankets and in the path of the damn fan that she just can’t sleep without.

The problem with nightmares is that the darkness you lie in while you try to go back to sleep feeds them. You don’t escape them by waking up; instead, you analyze them in a half sleep where your mind draws lines that make sense at the time. These feed more fear, making it harder for you to get back to a full sleep.

You always tell me to snuggle up to you, to use you to make myself feel better. That is a lovely idea until the nightmares are about you. Dreams of terror that are inspired by the vengeful actions of the one person that means the most to me in this world. How do I snuggle up to the person I just watched stab me, literally, in the heart? How in the world do you expect me to find solace by wrapping my arms around a monster?

At least I realize that this was a dream. That is what keeps me from wrapping my arms around your neck. That is all that saves your life after the terror that you just spawned.

I take a few deep breaths and try to calm down. Then I roll over and put an arm around you anyway. It helps a bit, I love you.

That is when I begin to get really scared, because you feel way to cold to be under the blankets.

Dear?

  1. last_lines
    December 23, 2011 at 7:04 PM

    Wow! That is a very creepy little piece of flash…Nicely done.
    – Kim
    Just creeping by from “Wrestling the Muse”

    Happy Creepfest & Merry Christmas!

    • December 23, 2011 at 11:34 PM

      Thanks. I am really glad to hear you liked it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

