Home > Book, Flash Fiction, Horror, Links, Random, Uncategorized > Adventures in the Kitchen

Adventures in the Kitchen

I was blessed to have married a woman who loves to cook and who I fully believe should be a professional chef. I hate to admit it but I really am not much of a cook. I had grown up with a fairly limited pallet, little interest in cooking and my wife (best cook ever!) did it after we were married. So when I found out that she was going to start taking evening aerobics’ classes and that I would be cooking a couple of nights a week I was more than a little concerned. My kids are spoiled on their mothers cooking and they would be the ones judging my efforts. I had a huge apron to fill, and that wasn’t a size crack at my wife, and some of the most brutal critics possible. I was in trouble.

At the same time, my darling girl was trying to lose weight and she was looking for a book to help in her hunt for a decent lunch. We were looking at the “Eat This, Not That” book that she wanted when I spotted its sister, “Cook This, Not That” and started flipping through the recipes.

Best. Purchase. Ever.

The recipes were easy enough for a father to follow. Most of them are reasonably priced and quick to make. These were all things that made my list so on that alone I would recommend them. However, the real testament is to the dishes that have remained on our “to make list”.

The Gnocchi has become a staple and a slightly modified version of the fried rice is almost always welcome. My daughter even likes most of the foods. So I have to say that this book and its recipes were worth it.

The biggest thing though, is that my wife likes the meatballs. She doesn’t like anybody else’s meatballs and doesn’t even make her own due to her dislike of them. Now, she will occasionally suggest that I make these. Thanks to this cookbook, I rock.

L. E. White

Home style

She hummed a soft little tune as she brought the knife down in a rapid series of taps on the cutting board. The green onion was devoured by the hungry steel until she was left with a pile of pungent confetti to add to the broth. A slow scrape of the cleaver pushed the tiny pile of paper like green rings into the bubbling cauldron that filled the kitchen with the aroma of its mouth watering contents.

The vegetable soup was only the first course to be served on this special day. One year ago, she had promised to love, honor and cherish a handsome man with two tiny words. He had promised to do the same and she had smiled for days because of the memory of those words. She was a good wife, cleaning and caring for him. So when she had discovered that he wanted something special to eat she had done her best to fix it for him.

The grill would be ready now, so the time had come to slice up the meat. As she approached the kitchen island the woman who was tied to it began to thrash and cry; muffled sounds coming from around the gag that kept the noise to a minimum.

“He must have really wanted you if he was willing to cheat on me with you.” She said as she tested the edge to see if the blade needed to be sharpened. “So if you are what he wants then you are what I am going to fix.”

  1. February 4, 2012 at 9:39 AM

    Love it! Because you billed this as horror I knew there was a nasty twist coming, and kinda guessed what it may be, but it didn’t take anything away from this short and tasty piece. Well done. 🙂

  2. February 4, 2012 at 7:15 PM

    That’s one heck of a cheating deterrent. Great story!

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:36 PM

      Yeah, but I have to wonder if he found out before or after dinner.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

