Home > Book, Flash Fiction, Review, Uncategorized > Review – Inhale by Kendall Grey

Review – Inhale by Kendall Grey

I entered into reading Inhale, the first in the Just Breath Trilogy by Kendall Grey with no clue about what I would be getting into. I knew the story was from the urban fantasy genre and that it had whales in it.

First, there is far more romance in this than what I would have selected on my own. I am a horrible judge of romance though so I will not comment on it. I just don’t always get it and yes, my wife will be happy to verify that for you if you have any questions.

I am disappointed to say that I didn’t really enjoy the book despite the fact that I don’t have anything bad to say about it. Not every story appeals to every reader and in this case I think the story and I are just a little too different to mesh well.

That being said I honestly can’t tell you why I didn’t get into it more. Grey is a gifted author with a fantastic and immersive style. I can specifically describe scenes from this story that are movie like in my mind. The characters are believable and written in a way that lets you get to know them quickly. I even remember feeling a little concern for one of them during an early encounter with a whale. I wondered if she was going to make it out of the water. I cared.

The fantasy portions of the story are really good. The use of a four elements system in relation to the quasi magical abilities of some portions of the story was a nice change of pace. It allowed a reader with knowledge of the occult to draw parallels to real world concepts that aren’t always there in other stories. The Realis/Dreamworld structure allows for fantastic events within the world in a plausible manner. This is a nice departure from so many other systems where the general population just doesn’t want to admit to what is going on.

I just don’t get it. I think that in my case, the romance hinders my enjoyment of the other elements that Kendall has done such a good job of presenting. So, if you have anything that resembles the normal emotional reactions of almost every other person in this world then I would suggest you give Inhale, book one in the Just Breathe trilogy and try. If you’re more like me you can go find someone who is enjoying it and club them over the head in frustration at not being able to share in their enjoyment of this excellent story.

L.E.White

Surprise My Dear

I have done all that I could to prepare for our special day. We have been so close for so long that it is really hard to believe that I will surprise you.

I have laid everything out just as you like it. The wine is breathing and the dinner is on the plates waiting to be served. I have the table set and I even have little dishes of Rocky Road ice cream on a tray in the freezer.

I have the toys lying on the bed as well. The things that I know will make you squeal and moan. Everything is ready except that you are not here.

As I sit and wait my mind plays naughty tricks on me. I think of you not coming home but instead going to some imaginary boyfriend. I think of you in the arms of another as my heart clenches. I think of you not being with me and a tear escapes.

But these are only the tricks of the mind. You disprove my fears by doing nothing more than parking your car in the garage. I jump up and banish the darkness that has settled in the house by lighting the candles as you remove your coat and hat and hang them on the hooks beside the door; a nightly ritual that declares to the world that you are indeed home.

You stop in surprise as you enter the dining room; slowly turning your head as you take in all the things that I have done. Your eyes, wide with amazement, finally fall on me where I am leaned against the wall. I see the surprise and wonder that you feel as you open your mouth and say three little words that I have been waiting so long to hear.

“Who are you?”

  1. February 15, 2012 at 2:30 PM

    Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review INHALE, Leonard. Sorry the book wasn’t for you, but I’m glad you enjoyed the fantasy aspects of it. 🙂

    • February 15, 2012 at 3:09 PM

      I really think you did a wonderful job and I hope that it turns out the way you want it to. Everyone seems to be really enjoying it. Good luck.

  2. February 17, 2012 at 4:25 AM

    Haha, I LOVE Inhale. I really didn’t see that ending coming.

  3. February 17, 2012 at 4:26 AM

    Whoops, sorry, I meant the short story… Getting titles mixed up here.

    • February 17, 2012 at 7:17 AM

      No worries, I have to say that you should give Inhale a try. You will probably really enjoy it. Everyone else that has read and reviewed it has.

      I’m really glad to hear that you enjoyed the story. There will be another next Wednesday as well so I hope to see you again then.

  1. February 29, 2012 at 3:28 PM

Leave a Reply

