Home > Uncategorized > Three down, one to go.

Three down, one to go.

I am excited to say that I just mailed back my first writing contract. I will be having two stories appear in the upcoming Hazardous Press zombie anthology, “A Quick Bite of Flesh”.

I recently discovered Duotrope. A website where publishers place ads when they are looking for submissions. I have found a couple of interesting things there and “A Quick Bite” was one of them. However, for me, the story gets better.

This will be a collection of flash fiction and I originally submitted one piece. However, with my submission was a link to this blog. The editor decided to check it out and requested the zombie story that I had posted a few weeks ago. Due to the contract I had to take it down but it will soon be available in print. I will post a link on the side.

As this is a paying anthology that means that I have now met three of my four goals for the year. The last thing on my list is to finish a novel length work. I don’t know how many more anthology short story submissions I will be working on but I am sure that I will be working on the rough draft of my necromancer novel at the same time.

Wish me luck.

L. E. White.

Try One

My head felt like I was looking out of an empty fish bowl. The world was out of focus and everything sounded like I was talking to Charlie Brown’s teacher. “Wot Wot wotwot Wot wot.”

“How’re you doing dear?”

I knew she was talking to me but it took a minute to get my bearings enough to turn and look at the woman who was talking to me.

“Try this,” she had said. “You’ll feel better,” she had said.

Right now, I felt like I was standing outside the bus as it drove down the street. All the sensation of moving without going anywhere.

I don’t know if it was intentional or not, but she had lied. I did not feel better.

“Never again,” I said, looking at my angel as I considered what she went through every day. “How in the fuck can you take these things?”

“I don’t want to,” she said as she sat down beside of me. “I don’t like feeling weird but it’s better than the panic attacks.”

I wasn’t sure about that but I couldn’t seem to put the words together.

“Remember what those pills did to me when I started taking them? I went for almost two months before I started feeling ok.”

I looked at her for a bit; her curly hair and bright blue eyes, a caring smile and a little wrinkle on her brow that must have been from worrying about me. I felt bad for making her worry but these antidepressants were not the thing for me. No wonder she had been saying that she wanted to stop taking them as soon as possible.

“I am done,” I said. “From now on, I’m treating my emotional problems the old-fashioned way.”

“How?”

“Lots of alcohol and random sex.”

She laughed at that, but it wasn’t a happy laugh. She wasn’t laughing because it was funny, she was laughing because I now understood more of how she lived her life and there wasn’t a better way to express it.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

