Home > Flash Fiction, Horror, Random, Writing > Current Writing and Upcoming Schedule

Current Writing and Upcoming Schedule

I am so busy I can barely sit down and write. Work is crazy and the major project I am working on is wrapping up. It is getting crazy and everyone is anxious for our group to finish. this means lots of long nights and possibly a few weekends until our software is in place.

As far as writing goes, I am happy to say that I have submitted another story to Siren’s Call Publications. This one is for their serial killer anthology and I am hoping they enjoy it. My title was “The Wild Feast” and now that it is sent out, that is another nine thousand words down.

I am also cleaning up a submission for the “Sword and Mythos” anthology. A collection of fantasy stories that include an element of the dark mythos inspired by H. P. Lovecraft. I love this story and will be anxious to finish it.

Finally, I am preparing for my first public reading. The Bloomington Writers Guild is hosting a public reading at Box Car Books on February 3rd. This is the second in the series and three writers will be reading from their collected works. I will be the first to read and I believe I am going to read the first portion of my now finished novel.

Or, the only polished chapter from my new novel, depending on how you want to look at it.

Feel free to come and listen, we will be there from three to five pm.

Wish me luck, with the way my schedule looks over the next few weeks, I am going need it.

L. E. White

Dentist

I have to say that this is the best jobs I have ever had. It isn’t hard to find food when you are a demon who feeds on pain, but I still can’t help but love this job.

Back in the old days, I worked as a torturer. I went from kingdom to kingdom, serving each new lord with enthusiasm. Those were good days though I bet you can’t imagine all of the things we did. Sure, we would take people and burn them alive or flay the flesh from their bones, but that was only some of it. Most people don’t really understand the true depths that pain can be inflicted to another person. One of my personal favorites was the iron boots. I would lock a person’s feet in an iron boot and then drive wedges between their knees until the bones splintered. It was slow and painful. You didn’t die from it, but the crippling would leave someone in pain for the rest of their lives.

The best part was that I didn’t invent it. People did.

You lot have been teaching me new and clever ways to inflict pain for centuries. Sure, demons live forever, hopping from body to body, but we just don’t have the creative spark that you mortals do. You’re always trying to one up the generation before you, and that is why you have developed so many interesting ways to hurt and kill.

After torture started going away, and while I can still find jobs that let me torture people trust me when I say they just aren’t as plentiful as they used to be, I tried all sorts of things. I spent some time as a serial killer, but that just isn’t as effective. I didn’t have anyone bringing me fresh people and that made it harder to keep myself fed. I also tried the BDSM scene, but if you don’t respect the safe word then people spread stories that you are dangerous and the opportunities fade away unless you move.

I really don’t like moving. After you pack up a few hundred times, a new place just isn’t exciting.

I wasn’t happy  and I wasn’t getting my fill. Years of just not feeling full passed until I stumbled on to this job. A modern way to torture the population and as long as I don’t kill I can eat as much as I want. Heck, every now and then, the population would rise up against a king and if he was over-thrown, his executioner was sure to die.

But now you come to me of your own free will and that is so much better.

So, I am sorry, but it is time for me to go. No more stories today, I have work to do.

Mr. Henderson is scheduled for his root canal and I would hate to keep him waiting.

 

  1. January 17, 2013 at 6:39 PM

    Now I know why I’ve always hated going to the dentist! 🙂 Tortuous story E.L., (in a good way of course).

    • January 17, 2013 at 7:22 PM

      Yeah. The dentist’s office is one of my least favorite experiences. As I understand it, we are part of the majority when it comes to this.

      Thanks for leaving the comment. I appreciate it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

