Home > Flash Fiction, Horror, serial, Were > Final Results

Final Results

Soft white light began to bleed in through a pool of darkness. As the light grew brighter, fuzzy outlines took shape. On the right, there was a small table, a floor lamp stood beside it. The lamp was on and pointed at the ceiling, which lit the room with the reflection of its light so as not to blind the inhabitants.

On the left was a small stool with a small dark haired person sitting on it, staring at him.

Carl tried to shift, but couldn’t. When he pulled his chin to his chest to look down his body, the room swam and shifted, making him a little nauseous before settling down and allowing him to see that he had been duct taped to a table.

His work table. The one he had sat up in the basement of an abandoned warehouse near the river. The final experiment site before he planned to leave town and head south to find another group of test subjects.

Carl let his head fall backward with a sharp smack as his skull smacked down. “So that is why you ordered the same drink that I had.”

“Yep,” Jane said. She did not move, but sat still on the little stool with her knees pulled up to her chest. “That was it was easier to switch drinks on you.”

“You are the first woman, aren’t you?”

“I am.”

Carl lolled his head to look at her. “You had blonde hair when I met you.”

“Hair dye is pretty cheap.”

He smiled and closed his eyes. “You are smarter than I would have thought.”

“Thanks.” Sarcasm hung on that one word as Jane fought with herself. She turned and looked at the door. There were no windows in this room, she could not see the sky move from black to grey, but she could feel it. There was tension building at the bottom of her spine. The sun was coming.

“You had what I was having to be able to switch the drinks, but I watched you drinking yours. How did you avoid the drug?”

“I didn’t,” she said. “I just sipped it and tried to keep from drinking too much. When you would look away, I would pour the difference into yours.”

Carl sighed. “What are you going to do to me now? Do you intend to get even?”

“No. I just want to know what you did and why?”

Carl squeezed his eyes tighter. “I have been trying to find a way to cure degenerative diseases of the muscles and skeleton.” Behind the darkness of his lids he could see the small blonde forms of his children, running and playing in the time before the hospitals and drugs.

In the time before the funerals.

Jane shifted on the stool. “Ok, but what did you do to me?”

Carl sniffed and opened his eyes.  He trained bloodshot orbs on Jane’s arms where they wrapped around her smooth, pale legs. “I attempted to force your body to transform. I believe that the process of being built and re-built will fix any damage in your system.

Jane tilted her head to the side as she looked at him. “But I don’t have a disease like that.”

“No,” he said. “You don’t. But I had to get the transformation right first.”

Jane looked up at the ceiling. She wanted to run away, but she couldn’t. For once in her life, she was sure that if she ran away from this, it would be the end of her. She started to speak, but a sharp prickling sensation stole her breath as it ran up her spine.

“You were dead when I left you. Can I assume that the process worked?”

Jane nodded. “It did. I feel better today than I have in years. More energy and no trouble breathing.”

Carl smiled, a manic gleam coming to his eyes. “It worked,” he whispered, turning to look back up at the ceiling. “I was right.” He snapped his face back to look at her. “What sort of transformation is it?”

“I don’t remember.”

He frowned at her and watched as she shuddered. Carl’s mind had cleared and he noticed how blue the skin on her legs was. “You are cold and shuddering.”

“Yes.”

“I think you were wearing pants in the bar but your legs are bare now?”

Jane stood up, revealing her naked form to Carl. She stepped up to the side of the table and reached a hand up to stroke his cheek. “I took my clothes off before you woke up.”

“Why?”

Jane leaned over so that she was looking straight down into his eyes. “Because the sun is about to come up and I don’t want them to get torn up.”

Carl’s eyes widened and he screamed. Jane let him, marveling at the sound and the way it echoed off the walls until it became distracting. Then she stuffed a piece of cloth into his mouth.

“You have ruined my life,” she said, stepping back as she felt another tremor course through her body. “And you didn’t even hang around to see what you had done.”

Jane grabbed her stomach and choked as she crumpled. She groaned as pain burned in a wave over her skin. Panting, she looked up at Carl.

He screamed into the gag as he watched her eyes change from brown to amber.

She was panting and moaning as her muscles rippled and the first cracking sound of breaking bones made her wretch. A moment later, she looked back up and rasped out her last words for the day. “Now you can watch what happens.”

***

Joey had been driving the bus for years. He liked it, because unlike a cab, most passengers kept quiet and left him alone. Tonight, his route would go almost to the Canadian border. This was a quiet drive and he would stay in town before driving back tomorrow night, offering him a mini vacation from his wife and kids. He looked back in the mirror, noted the grubby looking guy who looked stoned, the old couple who took this route a couple of times a year to visit family, and a dirty blonde woman who with her face leaned against the window.

He shut the door and put the bus in drive, happy to be able to take off on time with nothing to worry about.

Categories: Flash Fiction, Horror, serial, Were
  1. August 7, 2013 at 7:27 AM

    I’d be interested in seeing where her travels take her!

    You should re-visit with her sometime!

    • August 8, 2013 at 10:04 AM

      sometime maybe but not for a while. This turned into around 10K words. I have to say I was surprised by that. I had not planned anything so long when this started.

      I am sure though that the next few will not be serials. 🙂

  2. August 9, 2013 at 8:21 PM

    What did she turn into?

    • August 9, 2013 at 10:48 PM

      She turned into a giant cat. I hope you enjoyed the story. Thanks for reading.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

