Little Book 5

I want to take a moment here to offer support for some of my favorite places on the web. These are all things I enjoy on a regular basis and that I think you might enjoy as well. I visit most of these sites daily and all of the weekly. In fact, these are probably the source of most of my entertainment. Check them out and if you like them, support them.

Pod Casts:

I listen to a few different ones on a regular basis. I know there are other and if you have any suggestions then please leave them in the comments.

Writing Excuses – Years of weekly episodes that are fantastic information about writing. This has taught me a lot. I am a faithful listener.

Escape Artist Pod Casts – I have mentioned these sites before. They record audio versions of all sorts of stories. Each site has a general genre that it sticks to and their work is fantastic. I hope to one day have stories on here.

Pod Castle – Fantasy

Pseudo Pod – Horror

Escape Pod – Science Fiction

Web Comics:

I am not going to something for each individual one. They all have their merits and are all fantastic. This is the order I visit them in each day. I usually spread them out through the day so that when I need a chuckle I have one. Bad days will see me visiting the archives. The only exception to this is Zen Pencils, which doesn’t do daily updates.

Calvin and Hobbes

Dilbert

Schlock Mercenary

Questionable Content

Least I Could Do

Zen Pencils

Music:

Grooveshark – This allows me to listen to whatever I want. The one problem that I have with Pandora is that it seems like they never play my seed songs. If I am seeding with them, then I must like them and want to hear them. Grooveshark lets me build a playlist out of whatever I want. I am very happy with this and if you want one of my playlists, try this one.

Well, I think that is enough for now. I hope you follow these links and enjoy the content. See you next week. Hope you enjoy the next installment of Little Book.

L. E. White

Little Book 5

Joey flipped the book open from the back and started moving forward. He ran into names five pages later. “We seem to have done a pretty good job,” he said before turning his gaze to his assistant. “When do I need to settle up with your people?”

Claire stretched in a way that only a cat can before jumping off the back of the couch. As soon as her feet hit the floor her body shifted and the busty brunette was standing in front of Joey again. “You may clear your account at any time as long as it is before you run out of pages.”

“So what happens?”

Claire brushed a strand of hair back behind her ear. “You must take the list to her. She will take it from you and in that moment the exchange will begin. The book’s pages will be wiped clean and she will hand you back the empty ledger.”

“So why do I need to give her the book? You have been collecting your cut of the take all along.”

“It is symbolic. You must present it to her to show that you are holding up your end of the agreement.”

***

That night, Joey and Claire drove over. The old woman was sitting in the same place that Joey had left her almost six months ago and she still had the same dress on. He looked at her with a close, scrutinizing expression as he stepped forward. She was still out of balance. Nothing about the woman was symmetrical, but now, he thought everything was off in a different way. He wasn’t sure he was remembering it right, but it looked like a mirror image of what he had seen in his mind.

“You have come to settle up like a good boy,” She said. “Morrin never showed up on his own to pay his debt.”

“I ain’t Morrin,” Joey said. “Now, do I just walk up and hand you this?”

The lopsided lady nodded with enough force to make her jowls shake and her ears wiggle. She extended her hands to Joey in the same way a little kid does when they want candy.

“Alright,” he said as he walked up to her. “Here you go.”

Their fingers touched and a spark of static cracked between them. Joey jumped and cursed, looking down and seeing a dark red mark where the electricity had burnt him.

“Thank you,” the woman said. “Catch him Claire.”

“What a…” Joey’s words faded out as he felt the room spin. Flashes of light went off all around him and for a second he thought maybe the woman had set of fireworks. The windows and walls were covered in splotches of color and Joey went down.

“Take him home and put him to bed,” the woman told Claire. “Lie with him to ease his payment.”

“He does not lie with me,” the demon said. “I will have to retrieve his concubine.”

The old woman shook her head. “His concubine will not understand the payment. It must be you.”

Claire sighed but bowed her head in supplication. She knelt, collected the unconscious form on the floor and headed out of the building. She looked at him before dumping his body into the trunk, making mental note of the white hairs that had spread over his scalp in the last few minutes.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

