Home > Fantasy, Flash Fiction, serial > Biology 102

Biology 102

Easter was fun and I have more candy to eat than the kids know what to do with. I think we may have bought a little too much.

Oh well, I am certain it won’t go to waste. 🙂

My work deadline is fast approaching and things are crazy. While I will try to keep things scheduled properly there is a chance that the story will be late next week. If so, I am sorry.

Here are the next 500 words in the biology serial. I am trying too keep the truth of this story a secret until the very end. I just hope I can pull it off. Enjoy yourselves.

L. E. White

Biology 102

Josh watched his grandfather walk away while thinking about what they would talk about. He knew he wasn’t in trouble, the old man had messed up his hair when he left and that was something he only did when he thought one of the kids had been funny. Josh was sure he wasn’t in trouble, but he wasn’t sure what this talk would consist of.

He just hoped it wasn’t going to be the birds and the bees. Josh’s Dad had already had that talk with him and they still couldn’t look each other in the eye.

Josh leaned forward as he turned back to his drink. He was going to grab the straw with his mouth but instead he ended up with his nose on the same level as the waitress’s name tag. He lifted his eyes, but did more craning his neck than straightening up so he was forced to turn his head a little to see her face. Helen stood behind the counter, across from Josh, with her head cocked to the side and a wicked gleam in her eyes.

“Hi, Josh right?”

He stammered and stuttered for a moment before she giggled. Josh felt his face flare up in another blush and dropped his eyes while taking a deep breath. He straightened up, opened his eyes to look at her again, and nodded.

“You’re a freshman this year, right?”

“Yeah.” He croaked out the answer before grabbing his glass and getting a big drink. “Yeah, but how did you know? We don’t have any classes together.”

Helen smiled a big, toothy smile and Josh felt his mind shut down. “My friend Tara is in your art class. She pointed you out as the freshman who had been accepted into the advanced class.”

Josh nodded. Her smile had short circuited his brain. She stood there for a second and started to shift back and forth.

“What are you thinking when you stare at me?”

The question was so blunt that it made Josh blink. He wanted to say something smooth or witty. He would have liked to have said something intelligent. Instead, he said, “Wow.”

“You look at me and think ‘Wow’?” She was grinning at him as she spoke but she also reached up and twirled her hair around her finger.

“Yeah.”

Her smile widened and she leaned forward. “I know you were watching me as I cleaned up that table.” She spoke in a whisper so that her voice wouldn’t carry. “I get off work at 9:30. If you come back, you just might get to see more of me.”

Josh swallowed. It echoed in his ears and at the sound, Helen pursed her lips and twisted her mouth to the side.

“See you later Josh.” He watched her walk away. Every shift of her hips left his mouth feeling drier but he couldn’t take his eyes off of her. She was perfect, radiant, and she even knew his name.

Categories: Fantasy, Flash Fiction, serial
  1. April 27, 2014 at 3:19 PM

    I guess I need to go back and catch up on this serial. This scene definitely caught my attention. 🙂

    • April 30, 2014 at 12:22 PM

      Good thing it is early in the process. I just added the third installment.

  1. April 26, 2014 at 8:09 AM

Leave a Reply

