Home > Flash Fiction, serial > Biology 402, final exam

Biology 402, final exam

I have reached where I wanted to go in this story. I know I have left a lot without explanation, but that is all part of another story for another time.

I actually thought this would have fewer installments when I started, but I was wrong. From a writing point of view, I hope that is a good sign. That I am naturally moving towards longer works. I am hoping that, rather than it being that I am just getting longer winded and writing sloppy.

Then again, that is what practice is for.

L. E. White

 

Biology 402

Josh felt the world moving. His stomach flipped and he bit his lip to try and help keep his dinner inside rather than letting it out. He shifted and as he did, the seat squeaked.

Just like it always did in his grandfather’s car.

“Awake again?”

Josh cracked one eye, expecting it to hurt, but there wasn’t enough light to bother him, so he opend both eyes and focused on the old man behind the wheel.

“You have had a big night,” he said. “are you alright?”

“I think so.” Josh rubbed his face with one hand and looked around. “Wheredidyoucomefrom?”

“Was that english?”

Josh shook his head and blinked a few times before focusing on his grandfather again. “Where did you come from? What happened?”

Josh’s grandfather looked at him and smiled, but he didn’t look happy. Instead, Josh would have sworn that he was about to cry.

“I came to help you when I felt your song.”

“What?”

The old man looked back out over the steering wheel and closed his eyes for a moment. He sighed, a deep sigh and then nodded once. “We have a gift, as a family. We can sign.”

Josh looked at his grandfather; one eyebrow cocked up a little, and said nothing.

“I have said before that your voice can change the world around you, yes?”

“Yeah, and that is why we only sing in church.” Josh shifted around so that he was looking out of the windshield. They were sitting on the street, under the lamp, just across from home.

“No, we only sing in church because all of the songs try to make us better people.”

“What?”

Josh’s grandfather sighed again and chewed on his lower lip, making his mustache bristle and move like a living thing. “It is late. Would you be willing to accept a simple answer now if I promise to explain everything to you tomorrow?”

Josh chewed his own lip, the action mimicking the old man’s in the way that only family ever does. “You promise?”

“I will.”

“Okay,” Josh nodded and turned back to face his grandfather again. There had never been a broken promise in his house. To keep your word was one of the sacred commandments. You didn’t unless you meant to keep you word.

“When you sing, your voice has power,” the old man said. “You can make and destroy things with your voice. I can too.”

“You mean this literally?”

“Yes. You broke those windows didn’t you?”

Josh’s eyes widened as he thought back. “You can do that too?”

“Yes.”

“Can you show me how to do it?”

“Yes. Starting tomorrow.”

Josh swallowed, he was having trouble understanding what this meant. “What about Helen?”

“She is no longer a threat to you.”

“What was she?”

“A drinker of souls,” the old man said. “And if you had not been a singer, she would have swallowed yours.”

“Did she know?”

“No,” he said. “She would not have done that if she had known.”

“But…” Josh couldn’t finish the sentence. He was stumbling as he began to replay the evening in his mind.

“Enough for now,” his grandfather said. “Now we sleep. Tomorrow, we will begin.”

Josh opened his mouth to ask another question, but his grandfather sang out a single note and the world went dark again.

Categories: Flash Fiction, serial
  1. June 4, 2014 at 11:16 AM

    Awesome story! I love it! Thanks for sharing. If you’re into zombies and apocalyptic stuff too, check out: http://www.theapocalypsebites.com. Keep these cool posts coming. Cheers!

    • June 10, 2014 at 9:18 AM

      Sorry for not replying right away, I am so far behind that it is still last month in terms of finishing things.

      Thanks for the comment, I am glad you enjoyed the story.

      I just got back from reading the blog you listed. I don’t know when I am going to have the time to read all of it, but I want to. Thanks for the link.

      • June 10, 2014 at 10:55 AM

        No worries! Thanks for getting back with me. I know this is a busy time of the year. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

