Home > Cthulhu Mythos, Flash Fiction, Horror > New story to appear in Under The Bed Magazine in September

New story to appear in Under The Bed Magazine in September

My Native American Cthulhu mythos story, Wendigo, has been accepted for inclusion in the September issue of “Under the Bed” magazine. Here is the cover.

 

Under the Bed September

Under the Bed September cover

Once it is available, you can pick up a copy here.

In other news, I finally finished the third draft of my first novel. My working title is Double Occupancy. I am working on the fourth draft already, compiling the book chapter at a time after putting it through my new favorite editing tool, The Hemmingway Editor. It catches things I just don’t, and I love it. I am about to start writing the synopsis and submitting the book to agents. Wish me luck. I should be on here, griping about rejections from agents, in about a month.

L. E. White

Coffee Date

Joey sat with his hands in front of his face like he was praying. He was resting his elbows on the table, and he had his eyes closed.

Joanna wondered if he was praying or just waiting for her to finish pouring sugar in her coffee. She liked this restaurant better than the one that was across from the doctor’s office. Jerry’s had the sugar in a container rather than just putting a box of the little packets on the table. She felt stupid tearing the tops off of so many packets to get the coffee to taste sweet enough.

As if he was waiting for his queue in a play, the moment that Joanna put her spoon down, Joey opened his eyes. “Hello.”

“Hi,” she said. “How you been lately?”

“Not bad.” He reached up and parted his long hair in the middle of his forehead. When he did, the thin, gold hoop that floated above his head lifted higher to avoid touching his hands. Once his hair was out of his eyes, the halo lowered back down to rest just above his head. “You?”

“I lost my job.” She picked up the spoon and stirred her coffee to keep her hands occupied. “But you already knew that.”

“I did. But I knew you needed to tell me.”

She nodded. “It feels more natural when I do.”

They both stopped talking when the waitress walked up. She sat the little plate, covered with hash browns, on the table and hurried away.

“She didn’t ask if I wanted ketchup,” Joanna said. She pursed her lips, pouting a little at the slight.

“You are scaring her,” Joey said. “People are afraid of people who talk to things they can’t see.”

She stared down at her plate. “I know. That is why I got fired. I was talking to Samantha.”

Joey didn’t say anything. He just shifted his hands so that his chin was resting on both fists.

“The doctor gave me new medicine.”

Joey smiled at Joanna. “I know. I’ve been waiting on you to say something about it. That medicine is why I am here.”

Joanna looked over at the counter and the waitress turned away from her as fast as she could. “She was staring at us.”

“She was staring at you. Not me.”

Joanna pulled the little brown bottle of pills out of her pocket and began rolling it between her fingers. They both sat there, listening to the pills click against the plastic as the bottle spun. Joanna thought it sounded like hail on her window.

“I’m afraid.”

Joey nodded.

“What if these make me stop seeing you?”

“Then you stop seeing me.”

“I don’t want too.”

Joey leaned forward. “You need to live a normal life. That medicine will help you do that. I want you to be happy, and if not seeing me will make you happier in the long run then that is what needs to happen.”

“You’re my guardian angel. Seeing you is a good thing.” A tear ran down her cheek. “I don’t want to be alone all the time.”

“You don’t have to be if you don’t want to be,” Joey said. “Taking those pills might make it so that you can’t see me and Sam and Clarence, but it will also make it so that you can be with other people. People like Tom, and Sarah and Chance.”

Her lip quivered. “I don’t want to lose you.”

“You won’t. I will always be here, you just won’t see me.” He leaned over and looked up from the table at her. “All that really matters is that you get better so that you are happy.”

Joanna opened the bottle, took one of the pills, and said. “I’m going to miss you.”

  1. August 21, 2014 at 4:17 PM

    Congrats on the sale to Under The Bed! That’s great news!

    The story in this post is a good one as well. Lots of emotional content in a small package. Well done!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

