Home > Flash Fiction, Horror, Links, Writing > No guts, no glory

No guts, no glory

I did it. I pulled the trigger and started sending out query letters. Wish me luck, I will take all of it I can get.
I have also started working on my next novel. It isn’t part of the series that I want to produce, it seems like it makes more sense to write something different for the next piece in case I have trouble selling the first book in the series. I am currently working on a story about shape-shifting, predatory nature spirits. The working title is Oak, Ash and Thorn.

I am also working on a poetry submission for Popcorn Press. This year, they are producing another collection of holiday poetry for Halloween. The kick-starter for Halloween Haiku II just started and is a great project to get behind. Check it out. I have been a part of the last two Cthulhu collections and I hope they accept some of this year’s work as well.

In the meantime, I hope you are gearing up for Halloween. It is the greatest time of the year and for my family, our favorite holiday.

L. E. White

Growl

Jack hunkered by the fence. He tried to control his breathing and make less noise, hoping to hide from the creature.

He heard the soft crunch of gravel as a paw settled onto the road. Jack held his breath, wishing that he could quiet his heart as well. He fought not to gasp as he listened to a few more crunching steps before the road went silent.

Jack struggled to stay still and listen rather than just running down the road and hoping that he didn’t run into it again.

His eyes widened when he heard it growl above him.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 21, 2014 at 11:32 AM

Leave a Reply

