Writing news

There are so many things I want to do and so many things I want to learn. There isn’t enough time in the day to do it all. I have cut back on television and I have almost stopped playing video games.

Still, there aren’t enough hours in the day.

If any of you have any suggestions, I am all ears.

I have a few positive news notes. I will be having a story appear as a guest blog post soon. I will put up a link when it goes live.

I am talking to a podcast about joining them for an episode. I have never done that so I am looking forward to it. Links to that in the future as well. Once I am sure it is recorded, I will start adding links to their site.

Finally, and for me, the most exciting item, I am proofing the final copy of my first book from a publisher. This isn’t an anthology that I am a part of. This is just mine. <happy dance here>

Almost two years ago, I misread a closed submission call for erotic horror and wrote a ghost story. I shopped it around a little, and found a publisher. It sat on the schedule for a year before we started editing, but now, editing is almost done.

I can’t wait to share the details with everyone. The book will be coming from Sirens Call Publications, but since we haven’t settled on the title yet, I can’t say too much more. Very soon though, you won’t be able to get me to shut up about it.

Talk to you later.

L. E. White

Rain

It really was a dark and stormy night. Jeff sat in front of the window, watching the water appear out of the darkness. He had turned on the porch light so that he could see the fat drops as they hurtled towards his father’s old red truck.

The rain was coming from the West, so it wasn’t hitting Jeff’s bedroom window with its East facing dormer. He could have opened it and sat on the sill. He loved the smell of the air when a storm was really pounding down, but he didn’t want to chill from the drop in temperature. It was early spring, sitting with the window open was a summer treat.

When a drop hit the window, he jumped. Just to the left of his face, he traced the streak to where the little drop was still making its way down the pane.

He looked back up when others started smacking into the glass. There weren’t very many, but they were picking up pace.

It didn’t make any sense. He could still see the rain falling through the light. It was still coming from the west.

Until a swirling gust threw them from the south.

Then, another swirl took the rain just above the truck and threw it towards the house. Jeff could see the water falling, only to jump sideways just before it bounced off the hood.

He shivered, like the time he walked under that melting icicle and it dripped down his collar. Rain wasn’t supposed to change direction.

He heard something growl. It was a big, rumbling sound that came from the distance. His eyes widened and his face went pale. He sat still, like a rabbit that was hoping the dog hadn’t seen it, until another handful of drops slapped the glass in front of his face.

Jeff ran out of his room, screaming one word over and over again.

“Tornado!”

  1. January 23, 2015 at 1:53 PM

    Scary stuff … vividly described. 🙂

    • January 23, 2015 at 2:16 PM

      Thank you. In most cases, I aim to frighten.

  2. January 24, 2015 at 3:23 PM

    The last tornado like experience I had was about 10 years ago or so we had some nasty straight line winds rip through. These are kind of like a tornado but they don’t twist. Major devastation to trees and houses.

    We were pretty lucky, they didn’t do much damage to our house at the time.

    • January 25, 2015 at 5:03 PM

      Thank you for the comment and the information. I appreciate it. I will mark it for future reference. I keep a resources folder for notes like this.

      I don’t know much about tornadoes and I have never experienced one. The only time I have been close was a storm that went through my area of Indiana about fifteen years ago. In that case, the tornadoes went through a few miles south. We were outside, and I noticed the changing of the wind.

  3. January 26, 2015 at 1:41 AM

    I like you captured that moment between noticing an oddity and figuring out the cause. If he’s close enough to see it in the dark, I wonder what his chances of survival are?

    • January 26, 2015 at 7:45 AM

      Thank you. I appreciate the comment.

      His chances are low. Not too many characters make it out of my stories in one piece.

  4. January 26, 2015 at 11:43 AM

    I was expecting a supernatural influence. Tornadoes are columns of swirling air. Anything so low to the ground that it only reaches just above the hood of the truck is likely too weak to have caused the rain to “jump sideways.” However, it is common for twisters to appear in clusters (families) so your narrator might see one or more smaller cyclones before hearing the larger one bearing down on him.

    • January 26, 2015 at 12:27 PM

      Thanks. I will add this to the resource file as well.

      I didn’t know about the clusters, that brings an entirely different story idea to mind.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

