Home > LCTC, Random, serial > Post Lexington Comic and Toy Convention (#LCTC2015) and D.O.M.R.A.D. #6

Post Lexington Comic and Toy Convention (#LCTC2015) and D.O.M.R.A.D. #6

I have to say I had a blast at the Lexington Comic and Toy Convention this year. We both went down to work the weekend and it was fantastic. My wife got to assist Jim Cummings and she loved it. She has worked with Jim before, and was excited when she found out she would be working with him again. Considering that I know they were drinking together, I have to say I am a little jealous.

I started the weekend helping Deep Roy, but ended up being a general runner and helping everyone. While it felt like I ended up hiking at least a dozen miles over Saturday and Sunday, it meant that I was able to meet more people and hear more stories. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. I just need to remember to wear track shoes rather than my work boots next year.

Below today’s story are the photos I had the chance to take. There are a few displays, but most of them are of various cos-players who were kind enough to pose. Thank you to every one of you.

My personal favorite in terms of ‘Gee Wiz’ factor is the steam punk ghostbuster. The picture is a little blurry and that is my fault, but I didn’t see him again to get a better picture. I’m hoping to see him again next year and fix that.

I hope you enjoy the continuation of the D.O.M.R.A.D. serial. I am having a lot of fun with the world building. Let me know if you have any ideas or questions from this. Since it is all pre-writing for a future, large piece, I would love to hear what you think.

L. E. White

Department of Magical Research and Development

#6

Walter looked around the room at pictures of Joey shaking hands with soldiers and people in suits. He went along without a word until he stood in front of Walter’s diploma. “You have a doctorate in physics?”

“Yeah,” Joey said as he sat down behind his desk. “I decided to get a conventional education after I finished my degree here.”

“Degree here?”

Joey nodded and indicated the chair across from his desk. Walter sat and looked at the chess board that dominated most of it. “When you come here out of high school, everyone you know will be told you are attending Benjamin Franklin University. If you Google it, you will see that we are a fully accredited school that offers a wide curriculum. We do not have any athletics programs though all students are required to take a few physical education credits.”

“So what programs are there?”

“There is really only one,” Joey said. “You come here to study magic. While we will test to find your particular talents, it isn’t a subject where you get to pick a major.”

Walter made a face and looked down. “So it isn’t a real degree then.”

“Not like you are thinking of one, no.” Joey cracked open a bottle of water and took a big drink. He offered Walter a bottle and he took it, although he didn’t open it right away.

“Walter, we are here to study magic in a scientific way. We do a lot of work and research to help protect our country and to help protect our world. This school offers a degree so that your family and friends will buy what is going on.”

“Then I think we are done here,” Walter said. “I’m not interested in some bullshit degree from a made up school.”

Joey shook his head. “It isn’t quite like that.”

“Then how is it?”

“You get a degree in magic from here, and it is listed as a complicated, hard to define degree that doesn’t use the word magic. You still have all sorts of general education, but your focus will be on magic. Once you are a contributing member of the department, you can take any class you want at any university in the country.”

Walter sat forward.”Any?”

Joey smiled and nodded. “Any. You must continue your magical research though. As long as you are working and you attend the mandatory monthly meetings here, you can go to any college, for any degree, for free.”

Walter swallowed hard.

“That’s why I agreed to do this in the first place,” Joey said. “It is also why we were partnered up. We have a lot in common.”

Walter licked his lips.

“You can’t make a decision without more info though.” Joey hefted himself out of the chair and motioned for Walter to follow. “Let me show you what I’ve been working on.”

Joey put on a heavy pair of gloves and carefully opened a small metal box on his workbench. He lifted out one of a dozen tiny blocks of wood and put it on a scorched steel plate. “This is my most recent project.”

“It looks like a piece of wood.”

“It is.”

Walter looked at him and grinned. “I ain’t making no wise ass comment.”

“Alright,” Joey said. “You know how wood doesn’t burn, but the wood gas does right?”

Walter nodded.

“Well, I am developing a spell that will release all of the wood gas in a burst. Making any block of wood into a firebomb.”

“Why? They already invented grenades.”

“True, but magical fire is needed to summon spirits. By enchanting the wood, I make the fire magical. Then we can use it to create something else.”

Joey picked up the block, whispered a word to it, and sat it back down on the plate.

The door rattled when the block exploded.

AWESOME PICTURES!

IMG_1149 IMG_1150 IMG_1148 IMG_1147 IMG_1145 IMG_1144 IMG_1142 IMG_1140 IMG_1139 IMG_1138 IMG_1137 IMG_1130 IMG_1129 IMG_1128 IMG_1126 IMG_1124  IMG_1122 IMG_1121 IMG_1118 IMG_1117 IMG_1155 IMG_1154 IMG_1152 IMG_1116

Categories: LCTC, Random, serial Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 23, 2015 at 4:28 PM

Leave a Reply

