Home > Flash Fiction > Shift

Shift

I have always wondered why scenes like this don’t happen more often in horror movies.

L. E. White

Shift

I tilted my head to the side, staring in confusion at the tiny drops of red all over her face.

“You have something on your cheek.”

She didn’t say anything, but her lower lip was quivering. Her eyes were wide and she was getting pale. She lifted one quivering hand up and pointed at my chest.

The bullet had entered from behind, and I hadn’t felt a thing. The red stain was spreading across my shirt, and I could feel muscles starting to twitch.

“Run,” I said. My voice was soft, even though I hadn’t intended for it to be. “Run now.”

The change was coming. I didn’t want to hurt her by accident.

Categories: Flash Fiction Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

