Home > Flash Fiction > Will you post something already

Will you post something already

Wow, my posts have sucked for not fiction content lately. The thing is, I don’t think anyone really cares about regular daily life. So, unless it is a writing related announcement, this will become just the stories. I may still share things that I consider to be of particular interest, but otherwise, this is going to be come all fiction all the time.

I will try to keep it to under a 1000 words a story though.

Today is an attempt at something more like my understanding of literary fiction. Not sure how much I like it, but if a site dedicated to writing exercises can’t host this then there is no home for it.

L. E. White

Hunting

I sat down beside the boy, and felt the cold from the stone seep up into my ass while waiting on him to say something. In my opinion, talking to a young adult was a lot like hunting. You couldn’t flush them out, you had to be patient.

I hate hunting like that.

“I don’t like this,” he said.

I didn’t turn away from the stream. Instead, I sat for a few minutes, waiting until he fidgeted. “I don’t like it either.”

“Isn’t there anything we can do?”

Now, I turned to face him. “Change something.”

“I don’t understand.”

“If you want something to be different, then you have to make changes. If you always do the same thing, you can’t expect things to change.”

He looked at me for a long time before he nodded, stood up, and walked away.

Categories: Flash Fiction Tags:
  1. June 7, 2015 at 7:59 AM

    There’s a lot packed into this, for so few words. Well done.

    • June 8, 2015 at 12:06 PM

      Thank you. I appreciate the comment and the compliment. If you have any advice, I would love to hear it.

  2. ganymeder
    June 8, 2015 at 12:14 AM

    So if he doesn’t like hunting, why not just stop? That’d be a change, right?

    • June 8, 2015 at 12:09 PM

      He could, but since he was hunting a conversation, it is a little hard to give that up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

