Touch

I extended my fingers, reaching across the short distance between us as slowly as I could. My hands were shaking and I couldn’t think of a single way to tell this story without admitting that it was because of fear.

I don’t know how long it took. It felt like hours, but we were only a little over a foot apart, so it was probably no more than a few seconds before we made contact.

For just a second, the touch was no more than a physical connection. It felt like touching a wall. Just tactile sensation.

Then the world exploded behind my eyes. There was a flash of light and a roaring sound. I was confused and wondered if I had grabbed a frayed extension cord before I hit the ground. That was the last thing I remember.

I don’t know if it was an angel or a demon. I don’t know if it was real or my imagination, but I do know that it has meaning. Something is about to change. It might not be tomorrow, but it will be sooner rather than later. Whatever that was, it was my beginning.

Now, will you please take these cuffs off and let me go? I don’t know how much time we have left, but I want to spend it with my family rather than in a hospital.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

