Dwellers

When I walked into the room the light switch didn’t work. I didn’t think anything of it. Maybe the bulb had burned out. I pulled my phone out of my pocket and clicked the flash light on.

In the light of that little led, my world changed.

I had never seen them before. I hadn’t thought about the ones dwelling in the dark since I was a child. I can remember believing they were there, but when my father turned the lights on, the room was always empty. I believed him when he said they weren’t real.

As they sat there, bouncing up and down on long, slender legs, I realized what they were.

More than the dwellers.

More than monsters.

They were hungry.

And I was alone in the house.

  1. April 13, 2016 at 3:54 PM

    Oooooo… I really like this one! Great flash!! 🙂

  2. April 13, 2016 at 3:55 PM

    Reblogged this on The Road to Nowhere… and commented:
    A great piece of flash fiction from L.E. White… Dwellers

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

