Home > serial, Uncategorized > The Hours #6

The Hours #6

The reduction of our band from five to four left us silent for hours. I led us away from the water, and whatever it had been that dragged my friend below the surface, at a brisk pace. The other three were nearly catatonic, which is probably the only reason we managed as we did. Had we stopped to discuss this disaster, then we might have fallen to the same horrors as poor Carl.

The sun was flirting with the horizon before Samantha collapsed. The ladies had been troopers but it was obvious that we would travel no further without a long break.

Mark looked at me, then up into the canopy. He stared for a moment before extending his hand to help me up. “I think perhaps we should attempt to get a better account of our surroundings while the ladies rest.”

Samantha’s lip curled in a snarl as she glared at her hands, though she didn’t make a sound. Mary wrapped her arm around Samantha, pulling her friend close, and nodded.

We moved a short ways away before Mark stopped walking. He placed his hands on his hips and stared at me for a long moment. “I don’t know if you realize it or not, but we have far more problems than is readily apparent.”

“Oh.”

“What time would you estimate it to be?”

I looked at him, confused by his question. “With the sun so low, I would guess it is about seven in the evening.”

“Right,” Mark said. “We are not far from night, lost in some god forsaken forest that doesn’t resemble any place any of us have ever been, and we have no shelter.”

I nodded. “I would be worried if it were not for the face that roads follow the river on both side. We should be upon one any moment.”

Mark shook his head. “You do realize that we are not where we thought? You do realize that we have walked for hours and we should have hit the road in less than one? We are more than lost.”

“Just relax,” I said, putting a hand on his shoulder. “We will all be home soon and then we can …”

A scream cut my words in half.

Categories: serial, Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

